Ray Tassin

Inducted: 1983

RAY TASSIN (1926-2011) took charge of Central State University’s journalism program in 1961 when it had only a journalism minor and 50 students. Under his direction the department has expanded to two baccalaureate and two masters degrees with 900 students. Dr. Tassin worked on daily newspapers in three states and was owner, editor and publisher of The Konawa Leader 1953-56. He is the author of five books and 600 articles in magazines and Sunday newspaper magazine supplements. After serving in the Navy in World War II, Tassin rose to commander in the Naval Reserve and holds seven campaign medals, 14 battle stars and 11 letters of commendation.