2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Vivian E. Vahlberg

Inducted: 1983

VIVIAN E. VAHLBERG (1948- ) brought honor to her state when President Reagan installed her in 1982 as the first woman president of the prestigious National Press Club. As assistant Washington Bureau chief for The Daily Oklahoman and Oklahoma City Times, she has covered a wide range of stories both in and out of Washington, from the Supreme Court to Congress to the White House and from national political campaigns to offset oil drilling near Norway. She was born and reared in Oklahoma City and attended Rice and Northwestern universities.

Vivian E. Vahlberg
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall