Sidney J. Steen

Inducted: 1984

SIDNEY J. STEEN (1908-1992) was a journalist in Oklahoma for more than half a century, most of the time on the Tulsa World, where he rose to executive editor. He earlier worked for the Arkansas Gazette, Okmulgee Times and Tulsa Tribune. He and some tipsters caused the indictment and conviction of a police commissioner, a police chief and six police officers in a payoff scheme in which bootleggers were being forced to pay for police protection. In 1970, he engineered the recovery of the body of bootleg queen Cleo Epps.