Charles E. Engleman

Inducted: 1985

CHARLES E. ENGLEMAN (1911-2003) devoted half a century to Oklahoma newspapers and to journalism education. Forty-five of those years were spent as editor and publisher of the Clinton Daily News. Engleman was named “Benefactor of the Year” by the University of Oklahoma School of Journalism in 1978 and was presented the 1982 Milt Phillips Award for Excellence in newspaper journalism by the Oklahoma Press Association. He was part owner of several other daily and weekly newspapers and yet still found time to serve in a number of civic capacities, including the presidency of the OU Board of Regents.