Joan Gilmore donates $30,000 for future hall of fame museum, scholarship

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Edith Walker Forbes

Inducted: 1986

EDITH WALKER FORBES (1901-1984) showed a determination in publishing—putting out the Times-Record in Gotebo by herself until she died at 83—that seldom has been equaled. Born in Fleetwood, Oklahoma, she taught in Oklahoma and the Philippines until she and her husband, Raymond Forbes, started publishing weeklies in the 1930s. For six years before her death, she did all the work on the Gotebo paper, from writing to typesetting, from running the press to folding and from addressing to mailing. She quietly gave time and money to community needs but refused interviews, even when asked by the NBC television network.

Edith Walker Forbes
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall

Assistant hall of fame director named

Assistant hall of fame director named

Amber Loomis was recently named as assistant hall of fame director. She will help Director Joe Hight in planning for the hall of fame induction and other activities on a contractual basis. Loomis, in her role as UCentral administrative specialist, has already worked...

read more