2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Irvin Hurst

Inducted: 1987

IRVIN HURST (1904-1995) was one of Oklahoma’s best-known political and government writers, beginning on the Oklahoman and Times, first as a reporter and then as city editor. Hurst wrote 46th Star, a book which gives an account of early statehood days and the moving of the capital to Oklahoma City. He was active in civic affairs and ran twice for lieutenant governor. He also had a career as an insurance company executive.

Irvin Hurst
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall