2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Joe Howell

Inducted: 1987

JOE HOWELL (1910-1998) began his newspaper career as a Tulsa Tribune carrier boy and went on to become the newsroom’s expert on politics, government and a myriad of other subjects. He joined the Tribune staff as a full-time reporter in 1927, stopping only for a period in the circulation department and one year spent teaching and another on the staff of Sen. Robert S. Kerr. He covered seven full terms of the Oklahoma Legislature and helped cover the election or administration of every governor since 1937.

Joe Howell
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall