Gareth B. Muchmore

Inducted: 1988

GARETH B. MUCHMORE (1913-1983) covered World War II for the Associated Press and headed that organization’s financial news department in New York before returning to Oklahoma in 1947 as managing editor of The Ponca City News. He served as editor and co-publisher of The News for 36 years and was a partner in Radio Station WBBZ. A graduate of the University of Missouri School of Journalism, Muchmore was editor of The Duncan Banner for a year before joining the AP. His civic work was notable, and he was recognized as a longtime supporter of the Camp Fire Girls.