2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Wayne Mackey

Inducted: 1988

WAYNE MACKEY (1921-1987) was a dedicated newspaperman widely known for his writing talent and good humor. His 34 years on the Daily Oklahoman and the Oklahoma City Times included reporting on almost all news beats and stints as assistant city editor, state editor and columnist. He worked earlier on the Austin American Statesman, the San Antonio Evening News and the Tonkawa News. Mackey was a Navy veteran and a past president of the Oklahoma Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists.

Wayne Mackey
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall