2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Channing E. Guffey

Inducted: 1989

CHANNING E. GUFFEY (1924-2007) explored new frontiers in journalism by establishing Guffey’s Journal, which informed Oklahoma City and Tulsa readers about real estate transactions and news for 24 years. Before starting the widely copied business publication, Guffey was an editor and writer for 13 years for the Daily Oklahoman. He also worked on the Woodward Daily Press and Watonga Republican after starting his career as a reporter for the Daily Globe in Dodge City, Kansas.

Channing E. Guffey
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall