2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Edith Gaylord Harper

Inducted: 1989

EDITH GAYLORD HARPER (1916-2001) worked for the Oklahoman and Times before joining the Associated Press as a reporter in New York City. She later transferred to the AP’s Washington Bureau, where one assignment was the White House and the activities of Mrs. Eleanor Roosevelt. She also was elected president of the Women’s National Press Club. She was also secretary and director of the Oklahoma Publishing Company. Using her professional name of Edith Gaylord, she founded and was the financial provider for the Ethics and Excellence in Journalism Foundation.

Edith Gaylord Harper
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall