2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Tom Yarbrough

Inducted: 1989

TOM YARBROUGH (1910-1975) was a reporter, war correspondent and feature writer for 44 years. A 1932 graduate of the University of Oklahoma, he worked for the Oklahoma City Times before joining the Associated Press. After six years covering World War II for the AP, he headed the AP office in St. Louis. He later joined the St. Louis Post-Dispatch staff and covered many special assignments, including a three-month tour of South America.

Tom Yarbrough
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall