H. Merle Woods

Inducted: 1990

H. MERLE WOODS (1894-1988) was thought to be Oklahoma’s oldest journalist when he died at age 93. After graduation from the University of Oklahoma School of Journalism in 1907, Woods became news editor of the EI Reno American. He bought an interest in the paper and eventually became publisher and sole owner. After leasing the paper to others in 1958 he continued to write a column for it until his death. He was president and longtime treasurer of the Oklahoma Press Association and was inducted into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame in 1971 in recognition of his long record of service to his city and state in civic, youth, benevolent and historical organizations.