Poe B. Vandament

Inducted: 1990

POE B. VANDAMENT (1883-1956) was a pioneer newspaper publisher whose years of service to his profession and to his state and community earned him a place in the Oklahoma Hall of Fame in 1949. He came to Oklahoma before statehood and published a number of papers before buying the Yukon Sun, which he and his wife, May, edited and published from 1929 until 1948. Vandament was mayor of Yukon, president of the Oklahoma Municipal League and president of the Oklahoma Press Association.