2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Ray Parr

Inducted: 1990

RAY PARR (1910-1992) easily is one of the best newspapermen Oklahoma ever produced. His 40-plus years with the Daily Oklahoman displayed his excellent writing talents, and his Sunday column, “Parr for the Course,” showed his incisive humor. Much of his journalistic career was spent at the state capitol. After his retirement from the Oklahoman, he was state auditor for a year and then was an aide to the state welfare director. Parr was a member of the Oklahoma City Gridiron Club, the National Press Club in Washington, D.C., and the Society of Professional Journalists.

Ray Parr
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall