2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Alex K. Adwan

Inducted: 1991

ALEX K. ADWAN (1929- ) has used his position as editor of the Tulsa World editorial page to produce a showcase of wisdom and exciting rhetoric. Before joining the World, Adwan worked for a number of Oklahoma papers and was a tank platoon commander in the Korean war, winning the Bronze Star for combat heroism. He was hired in 1961 as the United Press International Tulsa bureau manager, later heading the UPI operations in Houston and Oklahoma City. He joined the World as Washington correspondent in 1966 and returned to Tulsa as an editorial writer in 1972. Adwan was named a Distinguished Alumnus by the University of Oklahoma School of Journalism in 1990.

Alex K. Adwan
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall