2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Windsor Ridenour

1992 Lifetime Achievement Award

WINDSOR RIDENOUR (1938-2019) was a journalist and leader who started as a reporter for The Tulsa Tribune. He became the Oklahoma City bureau chief, then city editor and assistant managing editor before becoming executive editor in 1989. He held the position for three years until The Tribune closed in 1992 as one of the last metro afternoon papers. He directed award-winning projects from a series on the riots at the Oklahoma State Penitentiary that won the 1983 Associated Press Sweepstakes Award to stories about the Penn Square Bank collapse. He was a past president of the AP-Oklahoma News Executives and Tulsa Press Club. His award’s original name “Certificate of Merit” in 1992 was changed to “Lifetime Achievement” in 2019. He was the second to receive the certificate. 

Windsor Ridenour
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall