Joe W. Taylor

Inducted: 1992

JOE W. TAYLOR (1923-1978) worked on newspapers from age 15 until his death, except for service in World War II. He learned Linotype at the Haskell News and worked on dailies at Corpus Christi and Alva, later publishing the Hinton Record for three years. He bought the Davis News in 1956 with a partner and purchased the partner’s interest four years later. Taylor and his wife, Margaret, published the paper until his death, and she continued to do so. He believed a community paper was a chronicle of the town. Taylor was a civic worker and served the Oklahoma Press Association in several positions.