Kay Dyer

Inducted: 1992

KAY DYER (1928-2020) was the first woman ever named city editor by the Oklahoma Publishing Co., first at the Oklahoman and then at the Oklahoma City Times. After 21 years with OPUBCO, she joined her family’s newspaper, the EI Reno Daily Tribune, where she has served as news editor, publisher and editor. Earlier, she received a journalism degree from the University of Kansas and worked for two newspapers in that state. She has received a number of honors for her accomplishments, including a Ford Foundation Urban Journalism Fellowship, and is recognized as one of Oklahoma’s most talented journalists.