2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Mary Jo Nelson

Inducted: 1992

MARY JO NELSON (1927-2007) started with the Oklahoman and Times and demonstrated unusual versatility, serving as an editor and a writer on such diverse beats as courthouse, city hall, state capitol, education, religion, business and architecture. She knew some of the extraordinary people of the 20th century. Nelson’s honors are numerous, including an orchid named for her, but she was most proud of the help she gave young reporters and editors coming along. She is revered by these and by many others in her profession. 

Mary Jo Nelson
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall