Joan Gilmore donates $30,000 for future hall of fame museum, scholarship

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Warren F. Bickford, III

Inducted: 1992

WARREN F. BICKFORD III (1918-1980) was a working newsman for 40 years, primarily in Blackwell, starting as a general reporter and advancing through various positions to general manager of the Blackwell Journal-Tribune. Active in civic affairs, he also served as president of the UPI Editors of Oklahoma and as a member of many committees of the Oklahoma Press Association. He was a person of high moral and ethical standards and was imbued with a desire to be a solid professional.

Warren F. Bickford, III
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall

Assistant hall of fame director named

Assistant hall of fame director named

Amber Loomis was recently named as assistant hall of fame director. She will help Director Joe Hight in planning for the hall of fame induction and other activities on a contractual basis. Loomis, in her role as UCentral administrative specialist, has already worked...

read more