2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

John C. Casady

Inducted: 1993

JOHN C. CASADY (1884-1965) was editor and publisher of the Cheyenne Star in Cheyenne, Okla., from 1911 until his death 54 years later. He began work on the Cheyenne Sunbeam at age 12 for 25 cents a week. He also worked in print shops in Oklahoma, South Dakota and Montana. Active in many civic roles, he was grand master of the Odd Fellows Grand Lodge of Oklahoma in 1927-28, was a delegate to the Democratic National Convention in 1936 and was a member of the Board of Stewards of the Cheyenne Methodist Church for 45 years.

John C. Casady
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall