2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Tony Hillerman

Inducted: 1993

TONY HILLERMAN (1925-2008) is one of this country’s foremost mystery writers. Hillerman worked for the Lawton Constitution and the United Press in Oklahoma City before moving to New Mexico. After being UP bureau manager and managing editor of the Santa Fe New Mexican, he became a journalism professor and department head at the University of New Mexico. With a Navajo theme in much of his writing, Hillerman’s books won him many awards and honors and placed on the best-seller lists. He was a president of the Mystery Writers of America.

Tony Hillerman
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall