2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Edward L. Gaylord

Inducted: 1994

EDWARD L. GAYLORD (1919-2003) headed a media and entertainment empire that spanned the country. However, he considered his role as editor and publisher of the Daily Oklahoman as his lifetime work and most important business enterprise. The newspaper has been at the forefront of most advances in publishing technology during the 20th century. Gaylord’s charitable and civic activities were vast and have benefited many in his city, state and nation.

Edward L. Gaylord
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall