2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Eric Allen

Inducted: 1994

ERIC ALLEN (1916-1986) served in 1969-70 as president of the Western Writers of America. He wrote 30 books, mostly Western fiction, selling his first one in 1959. One of his screenplays, Smoke in the Wind, starred Walter Brennan. Allen wrote feature articles for many newspapers and magazines in Oklahoma and throughout the country. His newspaper writing ranged from crime news to features on a number of publications in such places as Sallisaw, Muldrow, Alva, Enid and Lawton as well as in Fort Smith, Ark.

Eric Allen
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall