2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

F.E. “Wally” Wallis

Inducted: 1994

F.E. “WALLY” WALLIS (1907-1981) was an Oklahoman and Times sports writer for 27 years and the state’s foremost golf authority, winning national honors for his writing on the subject. He served as president of the Golf Writers Association of America and of the Oklahoma City Press Club. Early in his career, Wallis worked on papers in Sapulpa, Inola, Kan., and Poteau. Local golf pros cite Wallis for helping the growth of their municipal programs and his work in helping Oklahoma City with its first PGA tournament.

F.E. “Wally” Wallis
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall