2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Ferdie J. Deering

Inducted: 1994

FERDIE J. DEERING (1910-1993) spent 48 years with the Oklahoma Publishing Co., including 30 years as editor of the Farmer-Stockman during which he worked to help farmers adapt new technology to their operations. Upon his death he was lauded as having contributed more to agriculture in Oklahoma than anyone else. His awards and honors are far too numerous to list. He was a president and trustee of the Southwest Livestock Association. Before joining OPUBCO, he worked at the Ada Evening News and the Denison (Texas) Herald.

Ferdie J. Deering
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall