2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Margaret Taylor

Inducted: 1994

MARGARET TAYLOR (1926-2005) was president of the Oklahoma Press Association in 1990-91, the first woman to serve in that office. She began newspaper work in 1953 when she and her husband, Joe Taylor, leased the Hinton Record. Three years later the couple bought the Davis News with a partner, whose share the Taylors purchased in 1960. Upon her husband’s death in 1978, Margaret Taylor became publisher, running the paper until selling it in 1992. Her leadership qualities were evident in a number of civic organizations. 

Margaret Taylor
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall