2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Marlan Dee Nelson

Inducted: 1995

MARLAN DEE NELSON (1934- ) became director of the Oklahoma State University School of Journalism and Broadcasting in 1982 and earlier was an administrator and professor at Southern Illinois University and Utah State. His innovative leadership at OSU brought improvements in faculty development and academic standards even in the midst of mandated faculty cutbacks because of the state’s economy. While still a teenager, he served as writer, managing editor and editor of the Haskell (Okla.) News.

Marlan Dee Nelson
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall