Max J. Nichols

Inducted: 1995

MAX J. NICHOLS (1934- ) launched his colorful career as a sports writer for the Oklahoman and then spent many years as an award-winning writer, editor and columnist for the Minneapolis Star. He was national president of the Baseball Writers Association of America in 1972. After returning to Oklahoma City in 1980, he has been editor and columnist for the Journal Record, taught journalism at Oklahoma City University, worked for the Oklahoma Historical Society and wrote a double biography on John and Eleanor Kirkpatrick.