John R. Whitaker

Inducted: 1997

JOHN R. WHITAKER (1906-1978) was a dedicated professor with 23 of his final teaching years devoted to the University of Oklahoma School of Journalism. He also taught at the University of Missouri, University of Houston and Syracuse and was a Fulbright lecturer in Peru and Bolivia. Earlier, Whitaker worked on Denver, St. Louis and EI Paso newspapers as well as for the United Press. He was known as one who set demanding standards for his students.