2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Fred H. Grove

Inducted: 1998

FRED H. GROVE (1913-2008) spent almost 40 years in Oklahoma as an editor, OU press relations writer, journalism teacher and OETA staff writer. He is a well-known western fiction and historical author. He grew up in Hominy and after graduation from the OU School of Journalism worked for the Cushing Daily Citizen, the Shawnee Evening Star, the Oklahoma City Times and The Daily Oklahoman before working at OU, where he took professional writing courses. He moved to New Mexico in the mid-1970s where he has written more than 20 books. His novel The Buffalo Runners received the National Cowboy Hall of Fame award.

Fred H. Grove
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall