2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Linda Cavanaugh

Inducted: 1998

LINDA CAVANAUGH (1950- ) has worked at KFOR-TV, channel 4 in Oklahoma City for more than 20 years, and became the state’s first female co-anchor in 1979. Her broadcast journalism is nationally known for investigative and feature reports; she has earned more than 30 national awards, 40 regional and state awards and 11 Emmys. Born in Norman, she graduated Phi Beta Kappa from OU. Described as the top television journalist in the state, she is known for thoroughness, integrity and talent in reporting. A humanitarian, she used a $10,000 award from a documentary as seed money to help start the first Hospice in Oklahoma County.

Linda Cavanaugh
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall