Joan Gilmore donates $30,000 for future hall of fame museum, scholarship

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Lucia Loomis Ferguson

Inducted: 1999

LUCIA LOOMIS FERGUSON (1887-1962) showed strong determination and a natural ability for news, when in 1908 and fresh from college, she was named assistant editor of the Cherokee Republican. She found her niche as a champion for women’s rights when she began penning a humorous advice-to-the-Iovelorn column, which was soon picked up by all Scripps-Howard newspapers. Loomis began writing for papers such as the Tulsa Tribune, Akron, Ohio’s Time-Press, the Denver Rocky Mountain News and Fort Worth Press. Loomis also served from 1914-15 as vice president of the Oklahoma Press Association and the League of American Pen Women.

Lucia Loomis Ferguson
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall

Assistant hall of fame director named

Assistant hall of fame director named

Amber Loomis was recently named as assistant hall of fame director. She will help Director Joe Hight in planning for the hall of fame induction and other activities on a contractual basis. Loomis, in her role as UCentral administrative specialist, has already worked...

read more