2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Philip Morris

Inducted: 1999

PHILIP MORRIS (1940-2017) Philip Morris carved out a career that melded journalism with urban design, planning and preservation disciplines. He was considered something of an institution at the Birmingham, Alabama-based Southern Living magazine group, where he began as a building editor in 1969 and climbed into the position of editor-at-Iarge in 1991. Morris accumulated a great deal of recognition during his work with Southern Living. He was also a national honorary member of the American Institute of Architects (1990) and the American Society of Landscape Architects (1981).

Philip Morris
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall