2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Riley Ward Wilson

Inducted: 1999

RILEY WARD WILSON (1929-2007) likely interviewed most top executives of every major oil company during his 50-plus year journalism career. Wilson started his journalistic journey during high school as a reporter for the Shawnee News-Star. He made a name for himself as a trailblazer in the field, and quickly rose at the Tulsa World to editor in 1950, business-oil editor in 1976, and general editor in 1984. For many years he served as general editor and worked on special projects such as writing the daily “History in Headlines” feature which ran during Tulsa’s centennial year.

Riley Ward Wilson
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall