H.C. Neal

Inducted: 2001

H.C. NEAL (1922-2002) a native of Amarillo, began his journalism career when he took over the yearbook editor’s job in the middle of the semester at Oklahoma City University. He served in the Army as a paratrooper in WWII and Korea. He became news editor at the Watonga Republican and news editor at the Okemah Daily Leader. He was a reporter and then chief of the Edmond bureau for The Daily Oklahoman. His eyesight was damaged in the service, but he went on to become editor of the Edmond Sun and Edmond Booster. He also wrote articles for numerous national magazines.