Watch the 2021 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame’s 50th Anniversary Induction Ceremony

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Maebeth “Beth” Ray

Inducted: 2001

MAEBETH “BETH” RAY (1927- ) has worked on newspapers for 68 years, beginning at age 6 when she swept out her parents’ Vici Beacon. She graduated from Oklahoma A&M College linotype School and worked as an operator at the Lawton Constitution and Morning Press, the Cyril News, at Vici, the Woodward County News, the Leedey Star, and for papers at Taloga, Seiling and Custer City. She and her husband Homer purchased The Yale News in 1965 and produced the prizewinning newspaper until his death in 2000. Her father, Ralph E. Cain and her husband are both members of the Hall of Fame. She is a member of the Oklahoma Press Association’s Half Century Club.

Maebeth “Beth” Ray
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2022 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Sunday, Ocober 31, 2021.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall