Pendleton Woods

Inducted: 2001

PENDLETON WOODS (1923-2014) began his journalism career as editor of The Arkansas Traveler, the University of Arkansas’ student newspaper. A prisoner of war in Germany, he was commissioned after the war to serve as public information officer for the 45th Division, and inaugurated and wrote scripts for the first weekly TV program ever produced by an Army Division. He was reporter, editor and columnist for the Southwest American at Fort Smith, and spent 21 years with OG&E as editor of its company magazine, The Meter. As a historian, he published numerous books about Oklahoma history and biography. He established the Oklahoma Oral History program, won numerous state and national awards, and edited many publications.