Joan Gilmore donates $30,000 for future hall of fame museum, scholarship

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Robert L. Haught

Inducted: 2001

ROBERT L. HAUGHT (1930- ) has been putting words to paper most of his life, beginning on a church newsletter in Marlow. At Southwestern in Weatherford and at the University of Oklahoma he worked on the school newspaper. He drew cartoons for the Thunderbird News of the Oklahoma 45th Division. He joined United Press International in Oklahoma City and managed the bureau from 1960 to 1963. He became press secretary for Gov. and then Sen. Henry Bellmon. In 1987 he became the first Washington-based editorial writer for The Daily Oklahoman. He writes a column, “Potomac Junction;’ and travel articles. He is a member of the National Press Club and helped create the Will Rogers Humanitarian Award for newspaper columnists.

Robert L. Haught
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall

Assistant hall of fame director named

Assistant hall of fame director named

Amber Loomis was recently named as assistant hall of fame director. She will help Director Joe Hight in planning for the hall of fame induction and other activities on a contractual basis. Loomis, in her role as UCentral administrative specialist, has already worked...

read more