Dave Story

Inducted: 2002

DAVE STORY (1930-2009) got his first taste of journalism as editor of his high school newspaper in Mississippi. He moved to Oklahoma in 1961 after serving in the U.S. Air Force as military newspaper editor at several Strategic Air Command bases. He also worked at newspapers in Arkansas and Alaska. He served as editor of the Frederick Leader, the Guymon Herald and was publisher of the Claremore Daily Progress. In his 37-year Oklahoma career his papers won more than 100 United Press, Associated Press and Oklahoma Press Association awards. He received OPA’s Milt Phillips Award and the Beachy Musselman Award.