2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Frances “Fran” Morris

Inducted: 2002

FRANCES “FRAN” MORRIS (1930- ) has always used her writing career as an advocate for children. Born in Britton, she graduated from the University of Oklahoma in English after majoring in radio and TV. She became “Miss Fran” every morning on KWTV from 1958 to 1967, after working for three years as a writer for WTAR-TV in Norfolk and KWTV. As writer, producer and hostess of “Storyland,” she also wrote children’s stories in columns. After earning a MA from the University of Oklahoma, she focused on mental health for children. She continued children’s TV work at KFOR for 17 years. She also wrote “Speaking for Children” for The Oklahoma Gazette, KFOR and a talk show on KTOK.

Frances “Fran” Morris
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall