Francis Langdon

Inducted: 2002

FRANCIS LANGDON (1922-2003) was born in California and was a combat submarine veteran from WWII. He graduated from the University of Oklahoma Journalism School in 1948. He began his journalism career as ad manager for three and a half years at the Henryetta Daily Free-Lance and then became publisher of the Tonkawa News for 42 years where he exemplified the highest level of professionalism. He was president of the Oklahoma Press Association and Oklahoma Newspaper Foundation and was honored with OPA’s Beachy Musselman Award for distinguished service. He was a founding trustee of the National Recreation and Park Association.