J. Landis Fleming

Inducted: 2002

J. LANDIS FLEMING (1907-1997) wrote a neighborhood newspaper at age 10 and sold it for a penny a copy. He was editor of the Enid High School and Phillip University papers. He worked at the Springfield (Mo.) News, The Oklahoman and Times, and The Norman Transcript. He bought the Wes-Ten News in Oklahoma City, was editor of the Oklahoma Advisor and North Star, of the Moore Monitor, The Bristow News and the Kingfisher Times and Free Press. He also reported for the Journal Record, the Black Dispatch and the Oklahoma Publisher. He wrote five biographies of prominent Oklahomans. He received the Bill Crawford Memorial Media in the Arts Award for his contributions to the arts. He taught cello at OCU and Drury College.