2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Anthony “Tony” Pippen

Inducted: 2003

ANTHONY “TONY” PIPPEN (1936- ) started working for the Ada Evening News in 1983, developing a reputation for accuracy and high ethics. As business editor, he has been instrumental in economic growth and development, bringing new industry and jobs to Ada. His love for music developed the Ada Bluegrass Festival. Born in Arkansas, he was editor of the Harding College Bison, and once was the youngest newspaper editor in Missouri, working for newspapers in Kennett, Sikeston and Caruthersville. He has been involved in the Boy Scouts of America, the Ada Chamber of Commerce, and is former president of the Associated Press in Oklahoma and an original member of the American Publishing Managing Editor’s board in three states.

Anthony “Tony” Pippen
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall