2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Bob G. Burke

Inducted: 2003

BOB G. BURKE (1948- ) has written or co-authored 43 Oklahoma historical biographies and other books for the Oklahoma Heritage Association, including one nominated for a Pulitzer Prize. He was radio-television journalist and sportscaster at age 15 for KBEl in Idabel; color analyst for OU basketball network in 1967-68; news director of KOMA in 1968; news editor for KTOK from 1969-1971; and play-by-play announcer for ABC sports in New York from 1982-1987. A native of Broken Bow, he earned a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Oklahoma and a law degree from Oklahoma City University. He was Oklahoma Secretary of Commerce under Gov. David Boren. He serves on numerous Oklahoma foundations and boards and is a practicing attorney.

Bob G. Burke
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall