2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Larry Hammer

Inducted: 2003

LARRY HAMMER (1937-2001) purchased the Fairview Republican in 1958 and the Cherokee Messenger and Republican in 1966, and owned the Woodward County Journal and Jet Visitor. He learned the printing trade at Okmulgee Tech and was sports editor of the Okmulgee Daily Times. He served as president of the Oklahoma Press Association and served on virtually every OPA committee and the Oklahoma Newspaper Foundation. In 1996 he received OPA’s H. Milt Phillips Award. A successful businessman, he was awarded an honorary Masters of Laws degree for “distinct public service” from Northwestern OSU. Known as “Hammer,” he was active in local and state civic organizations and politics, and was a steadfast advocate for the underdog.

Larry Hammer
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall