Darrell Barton

Inducted: 2004

DARRELL BARTON (1942-2015) assembled and led an award-winning photo staff as chief photographer at WKY/KTVY Channel 4 in Oklahoma City. A member of the National Press Photographers Association for 30 years, he served as a faculty member at annual workshops in Norman, and the Barton critique is gospel. He was a combat Marine in Vietnam and entered TV news photography at KAKW-TV in Wichita. NPPA twice named him photographer of the year. In the 1980s he began freelancing and his pioneering trademark handheld fluid camera style landed a spot on “48 Hours” at CBS. He is widely recognized as one of the finest TV news cameramen in the country. His high standards of photojournalism have made him a legend.