2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Edward K. Livermore, Jr.

Inducted: 2004

EDWARD K. LIVERMORE, JR. (1944- ) Ed Livermore began delivering The Claremore Progress in 1950, and served in most positions on that paper and The Sapulpa Herald. He was editor of the OU Daily, earning a BA in journalism. After U.S Army service, he served at the Grand Junction (Colo.) Sentinel, UPI, and Altus Times Democrat before taking over as Editor and Publisher of The Edmond Sun in 1970. He also owned the Mineral Wells (Tex.) Index and the Guthrie News Leader. Livermore wrote a front page column for 29 years and served as Oklahoma Press Association president. Civically active, he was named Edmond Citizen of the Year in 1980 and to Edmond’s Hall of Fame in 2000. He’s recognized for his civic and newspaper leadership. 

Edward K. Livermore, Jr.
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall