2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Bettye Jane Johnston

Inducted: 2005

BETTYE JANE JOHNSTON (1921-2014) is known as Mrs. Journalism among alumni at Bartlesville Sooner High School where she taught journalism and photography for 16 years, plus four more at a middle school. While in high school, she wrote a column for the Pawhuska Journal-Capital, became editor of the Northern Oklahoma College Maverick and the Central State Vista when Pearl Harbor was attacked. After graduation she taught journalism at Central. Later, she continued to freelance for the Bartlesville Examiner-Enterprise. As an education activist, she was active in a multitude of community and state women’s, church, education and service organizations.

Bettye Jane Johnston
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall